Get to know . Tony Armstrong!

Do you have any pre-game superstitions?
No, not really. I just hope that I’ve remembered to bring everything.

What’s your first football memory?
I was eight years old and it was only my second or third game of footy. I remember no-one kicking it to me, so I cracked the sads and walked off. It was a crap game.

Who has been the biggest influence on your career so far?
Before I got drafted the biggest influences on my career were probably Adam Goodes and Michael O’Loughlin because I barracked for Sydney. Brian Taylor, who is my best mate’s dad, was really good to me too. Off the field, it was my mother. She’s just been great and has tried to instil me with good values.

What would you be doing if you weren’t on an AFL list?
I’d be bumming around at university and trying to knock out a few music records. I’d like to think I’m a bit of a muso, but I’m probably not that flash. I play the drums. There’s no way I’d sing because I’ve got the worst voice ever.

What’s been the biggest thing you’ve learnt since arriving at West Lakes?
Probably just the fact that I’m fully self-supporting at age 18. I’m paying my own rent and bills. Everything I have is through my own doing. All my mates at home are living at home or getting care packages, but I’m pretty independent. Before I was drafted I was living in a dorm where everything was right there for me, but now I have to go out and do it all myself.

What’s your favourite TV show?
‘The Mighty Boosh’ or ‘The IT Crowd’. They’re BBC shows – I like my English comedies.

What’s your favourite item of clothing?
I’ve got a leather jacket with a hood that I love. All the boys get into me about it, but I’m a fan.

What was your first job?
AFL footballer.

What’s your favourite sport outside footy?
Surfing. I’m not any good, but I like it.

Who is your best mate at the club?
Any of the young fellas. Pup [Jared Petrenko], Jarrhan [Jacky], Stiffy [Graham Johncock], Griffo [Jon Griffin], Bunji [Andrew McLeod], my housemate Dougy [Richard Douglas] and Porps [Jason Porplyzia].

Videos of tony eating DEATH burger at www.nova919.com.au !

Leave a comment

Filed under Players ! (L)

Leave a Reply

